Visiting places in Tharangambadi
Fort Dansborg,a locally called Danish Fort, may well be a Danish fort located within the shores of Bay of Bengal in Tharangambadi within the South Indian state of province. Fort Dansborg was implanted the land relinquish by Thanjavur king Ragunatha Nayak in an cooperative with Danish Admiral Ove Gjedde in 1620 and acted because the bottom for Danish settlement within the region during the primary 17th century. The fort is that the second largest Danish fort after Kronborg.. The fort was sold to land in 1845 and along with Tharangambadi, the fort lost its significance because the town wasn't a lively business establishment for British.
They landed at Tharangambadi, which is usually said as ‘land of singing waves’ because of the enchanting hymns of the ocean waves.Historical records say Vijaya Raghunatha Nayak had granted permission to King Christian IV of Denmark on May 5, 1620 to see a trade centre at Tharangambadi.The ozone content in air is presupposed to be high between April and July.The Dansborg Fort that was built to start out a symbiotic trade can still be seen on the tranquebar beach surviving the test of your time.In and round the little town, one can see mixes of the Danish, British, German and French colonies that after made Tranquebar their home.The Zion Church, inbuilt 1701, the New Jerusalem Church of 1718, The Brethren Garden at Porayar near Tranquebar, etc. The Goldsmith Street is particularly interesting and it had been restored by INTACH recently.
TELC New Jerusalem Church, Tharangambadi(4.6): –
Within a year, the 1707 Jerusalem Church was filled to capacity, with many folks being forced to square near the windows and doors of the church, for the dearth of space.The widow of Commissioner Heinrich Bonsack (died 1711) sold her house and garden, which was on the correct side of the missionaries garden, to the Tranquebar Mission.Then, the mission had an oversized land for building the church.On 9 February 1717, Governor Christian Brun laid the foundations of the New Jerusalem Church, Tranquebar. A copper plate Danish inscription to the current effect was placed. Further, the governor also gave duty-free status for the materials used for building the church and also appointed to 2 master artisans to oversee the work.
CSI Zion Church, Tharangambadi(4.4):–
Zion Church is one in every of the oldest churches in Tharangambadi (Tranquebar), a Danish settlement in Nagapattinam district within the South Indian state of state. it's within the premises of Fort Dansborg, inbuilt the land ceded by Thanjavur king Ragunatha Nayak in an agreement with Danish Admiral Ove Gjedde in 1620.Bartholomaus Ziegenbalg believed to be the first Protestant missionary in India and also the Church is believed to be the first Christian church in India.Zion Church is enclosed in Fort Dansborg together with a collection of buildings, the notable ones being the fort in-built 1620, the Masilamaninathar Temple inbuilt the 13th century, New Jerusalem Church inbuilt 1718, the Town Gateway inbuilt 1792, the Danish Governor Bungalow inbuilt 1784 and a series of tomb stones built during the 17th and 18th centuries. The settlement inside the citadel is modeled sort of a small European town with a land gate and wooden doors resulting in the most street, namely, the King's Street. The church is found two blocks aloof from the Bay of Bengal and has an exterior fabricated from brick, glass windows and tiled brick spire.
Tharangambadi Maritime Museum(4.3):–
it's situated near the river in Greenwich Park, Greenwich, southeast London. With the Queen’s House, the Royal Observatory, and Cutty Sark, the National Maritime Museum forms the Royal Museums Greenwich.The National Maritime Museum occupies a structure that was once the house of the Greenwich Royal Hospital School. The centre of the complex is that the Queen’s House, which was designed by architect and completed in 1635 for Henrietta Maria, wife of Charles I. it had been built on the grounds of the previous Tudor royal palace where Queen of England was born. During the 19th century two wings were added after the complex became a college for the orphans of sailors. The west wing was further enlarged later in this century. The museum was established by act of Parliament in 1934, and, following renovation of the buildings left vacant by the college (1933–35), it occupied the complex in 1937. In subsequent decades the complex underwent variety of renovations, and also the National Maritime Museum’s collection was reorganized. By the 21st century the doorway to the museum had shifted to the west wing, where the most galleries of the museum were located.
Masilamaniswarar Shiva Temple(4.5): –
In earlier period, the forest surrounding Tirumullaivayil was occupied by two notorious tribesmen, Vaanan and Onan from the Kurumbar tribe. King Thondaiman, the then ruler of the land, wanted to place an end to their atrocities. All his attempts went futile and at last he decided to defeat them in war. He started for the war with all his infantry and cavalry with elephants and chariots. on the way to the war, they waded through a dense growth of Mullai plants (Jasmine climbers). The foot of the elephant on which he was mounted was entangled within the dense foliage. The king and his men, in a trial to free the elephant from this mess, went on to chop the wild twines with their swords and daggers. Suddenly they noticed blood gushing out from the leaves and located a 'lingam' bleeding.
The Ziegenbalg-House(4.0): –
The Ziegenbalg-House in Tharangambadi (in the southern Indian state of Tamil Nadu) could be a joint project of the Francke Foundations in Halle, the Evangelical Lutheran Mission in state and therefore the Tamil Evangelical Protestant denomination in South India with the assistance of the many partnersThe encounters between the Halle missionaries and Tamil society in South India created a standard heritage, which, additionally to some architectural testimonies in South India, has been handed down through extensive written and also figurative sources. These are mainly kept in European archives, particularly within the Francke Foundations.
Shri Murugan Temple Thiruvidaikazhi(4.7):–
Hiranyasura was a disciple of Lord Shiva, Sri Subramaniya Swamy worshiped and performed a Shiv pooja under the Sthala Viruksha “Kura Tree” here to urge eliminate the Dosha of killing the demon King.Lord shiva appeared after the Shiv Pooja within the name of “Sri Pavanasa Peruman” and blessed Sri Subramanya Swamy . Lord Shiva asked Sri Subramaniya Swamy to remain here.Sri Subramaniya Swamy won and killed the demon King Hiranyasura within the Tamil month Vaikasi , Sadayam star day. The Urchava Moorthi of this temple is named within the name of “Hiranyasura Samhara Moorthi”.It is strongly believed that, this is often the sthlam (Place) where the wedding proposal of Sri Subramanyar and Goddess Deivanai decided.